Cinder (Lunar Chronicles Book 1)

My rating: 5/5

Cinder is a book written by Marissa Meyer about a cyborg living in New Beijing. She lives with her step mother and two step sisters and an android named Iko. Cinder works as a mechanic and all her money goes to support of step mother and two step sisters. Sound a little familiar?

It is a retelling of the classic fairytale, Cinderella. Which is why I have been hesitant to read it for so long. I know what happens in Cinderella, so why would I read a retelling. It was the book chosen for my book club’s monthly read in April, so I decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised. There are many elements that are different from the original Cinderella story (aside from the futuristic city and the whole cyborg thing).

Cinder is a likable, witty character, who despite her circumstances, is a nice, loving person. She may be a second class citizen because she is a cyborg, but she acts way more human than her monster of a stepmother.

The fact that this is a story loosely based off of a well-known fairytale, there will be parts that readers find predictable. However, this book is part of a series in which three more fairy-tales will be brought into the story. Therefore, I feel like the overall story will be different enough to keep readers interested. Even in this first book there is enough differentiations to keep readers interested. The mystery of Cinder’s past is sure to keep readers interested.

I have ordered the second book, Scarlet, and will be reading it as soon as it is delivered.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Cinder (Lunar Chronicles Book 1)

  1. Been meaning to read this book for a while, I kepy seeing it in Waterstones and have been reluctant to read it for the same reasons, but after seeing this review, I think I may give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

