Wonder

Wonder is a fictional children’s book written by R.J. Palacio  about a 10-year-old boy, August “Auggie” Pullman, who has Treacher Collins Syndrome and a cleft palate. Treacher Collins syndrome is a rare facial deformity caused by a genetic mutation. His mother has homeschooled Auggie because he’s had to have multiple surgeries throughout his life (I also think his parents did it partially because they wanted to protect their son and I do not blame them).

Auggie’s mom decides he is ready to start school. Middle school of all places, which I think is a little cruel to start a kid out in the cesspool of budding hormones, acne, cliques, and overall awkwardness. Auggie does not want to go to school, but his mom insist he at least meet the principal.

Auggie ends up going to school and facing a lot of backlash, from students and certain parents, for doing so. He makes some great friends though. Wonder is told by several different characters perspectives throughout the book. This, in my opinion, will help you (or younger children) learn to see a situation from different points of view.

I was weary about reading this book because it is a children’s book, and I didn’t know if I, personally, would get anything out of this book. I decided to read it anyway, considering the good reviews and the fact that I have a child who will, in the near future, probably have to read this book. This book as become one of my favorites, and I have since shared it with quite a few people (some people on my list are getting this book for Christmas).

The back story on this book is very interesting and I encourage you to read it as well as this book!

Happy Reading!

Moriah

Leave a Reply

